top of page

Thu, 08 Feb


C. Bechstein Centre Manchester

C. Bechstein Recital Series with Jackie JK Yoo

We are excited to announce the first of our 2024 recital series! With the incredible South Korean pianist, Jackie Jaekyung Yoo.

C. Bechstein Recital Series with Jackie JK Yoo
C. Bechstein Recital Series with Jackie JK Yoo

Time & Location

08 Feb 2024, 18:30 – 19:30

C. Bechstein Centre Manchester, 7-9 Tib St, Manchester M4 1AD, UK

About the event

The evening's programme will be:

W. A. Mozart - Sonata no. 15 in F Major, K. 533

This sonata is with 3 movements. The last movement, Rondo was originally a stand-alone piece composed by Mozart in 1786 (Rondo No. 2, K. 494.) In 1788, Mozart wrote the first two movements of K. 533 and incorporated a revised version of K. 494 as the finale, having lengthened it in order to provide a more substantial counterpart to the other two movements.

R. Schumann - Toccata Op. 7

The work was originally titled “Etude fantastique en double-sons (Fantastic Study in Double Notes),” and was infamously referred to by Schumann as the "hardest piece ever written"—to this day it remains as "one of the most difficult pieces in the piano repertoire”

It is partially based on the Czerny Toccata in C major, Op. 92, which Clara Schumann spent much of her youth practicing.

R. Schumann - Symphonic Etudes Op. 13

The Symphonic Studies Op. 13, is a set of études for solo piano by Robert Schumann. It began in 1834 as a theme and sixteen variations on a theme by Baron von Fricken, plus a further variation on an entirely different theme by Heinrich Marschner. On republishing the set in 1890, Johannes Brahms restored the five variations that had been cut by Schumann. There are now twelve variations and these five so-called "posthumous" variations which exist as a supplement.

About Jackie:

Pianist Jackie Jaekyung Yoo is known for performances that excite the audience with her virtuosic vivacity and emotional warmth. Her repertoire spans from early Baroque to contemporary music; her performance of the complete Book 1 Études by Ligeti has won acclaim by such distinguished artists as Martha Argerich.

As a prizewinner of nearly thirty international piano competitions, Yoo has performed worldwide at festivals such as the Bebersee Festival in Germany, Pyeong-Chang Music Festival in Korea, and International Gümüşlük Classical Music Festival in Turkey, among many others. Yoo has appeared as a soloist with orchestras such as the Manchester Camerata, Symphony Orchestra of Croatian Radio and Television, Phoenix Symphony, and Orquestra Simfònica del Vallès.

Also an accomplished ensemble pianist, she has appeared live on radio broadcasts (e.g. In Tune on BBC Radio 3) as part of Duo Yoo + Kim, an award-winning team that has won critical acclaim for recitals at the United Nations in Geneva and at Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad in Switzerland.

Born in South Korea, Yoo began playing the piano at age three and soon afterward won several national competitions. Shortly after enrolling at Seoul National Univer- sity, she moved to Germany to continue her studies with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling, Matti Raekallio, Vladimir Krainev, and Markus Groh at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media, where she received German Diploma degrees in solo performance and music education as well as the Concert Artist Diploma (Konzerexamen). She also holds an International Artist Diploma from the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, UK, where she studied with Graham Scott.

Jackie had been in Germany for 20 years and taught at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media since 2015. She is based currently in Seoul since she has been appointed as a piano professor of Chung-Ang University in 2023.

Share this event

bottom of page